Counselor, Doctor, Pastor

This was not a blog I had planned to post, but as I was praying this morning it came to me. If you’re not a Christian I still recommend you read this post, but I also understand if you’d rather not. Either way you are loved and appreciated.

So often we can forget who God is and what he is capable of, but he is all powerful and he loves us. God is at work in the world in here in the ministry of Breaking Silence.

Breaking Silence is about healthiness; mentally, physically, and spiritually. When I think about God I am reminded that he is the ultimate counselor, doctor, and pastor. Let’s take a closer look at what I mean.

Mental health – the counselor

God is the ultimate counselor. He listens to our prayers, allowing us to vent all that it within us and here is there to help guide us through. He is forgiving, gracious, and loving. We know that God is close to the broken hearted (Ps. 34:18). God cares for those who are suffering, he comforts those in pain. Think of Elijah and how God allowed him to rest when he was feeling overwhelmed with life (1 Kings 19:5-18). Think of the woman at the well, Jesus listened and encouraged her to trust him (John 4). God tells us not to be anxious but to come to him with all things (Ph. 4:6-7). God cares about our mental health, he cares about how we feel and he wants to be there for us.

Physical health – the doctor

God is the ultimate doctor. When we think of a doctor we think of someone we see when there is something physically wrong with us. God is a doctor, he has the power to heal. We see this with Jesus as he walked the earth. He healed the paralyzed (Mark 2:1-12). He healed the bleeding woman (Luke 8:43-48). He healed the sick children (Matthew 15:21-28). He healed the blind, the deaf, and the mute (Mark 7:31-37, 10:46-52). Jesus healed many people; though he did not do it the way our doctors would, he still did it. It is important to remember that he still heals today too.

Spiritual – the pastor

God is the ultimate pastor, after all, he if God. He has given us his word, he used people to write the best sermons ever. He has told us what to do to bring him honor and to love him. We are to love God and to love others, to do that is to fulfill every single command God gave in his word. He has encouraged us to live a life of righteousness, with fear of and in trust in him.

As we can see, God takes care of us mentally, physically, and spiritually. He is counselor, doctor and pastor. We can trust him to care for us, for he loves us.

God has giving me the calling of being a counselor and I look up to him and how he cared for people. God has called me to be there for and help those who are in pain and/or need help. We all have a part to play in this world. God has given us passions and voices that need to be shared and heard. Keep shinning your light and keep breaking silence ❤

Xoxo, Kelly (@smilexokelly on all social sites)

One thought on “Counselor, Doctor, Pastor

Add yours

  1. Yes, indeed! God is our counselor, doctor, and pastor. He heals any pain, all the tears we may shed, and any illnesses that make us uncomfortable. I go to God, first, with my thoughts and emotions. Every time. I pray to Him, asking for guidance, for strength, for more of an optimistic outlook. He is my best friend, sticking by my side and protecting me and loving me. I am thankful for Him and the guardian angels He may send down to help comfort us in times of need. He teaches me how to love myself, how to love others, and how to keep giving my positive & radiating energy/kind words/bright smile. I wish to give this love in my heart to any one who may need it, especially to my future S/O, family, and friends.

    God is good…all the time.

    Have a blessed weekend! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑